Astrology is more than just a horoscope. If you wish to understand the concept of astrology and how it all works, it is important to first understand the principles. Learning the twelve signs, twelve houses, how each are affected by the Sun, the Moon and the planets are essential to this education.

What is a zodiac?

A zodiac is a belt of the sky within 8° on each side of the ecliptic. This includes every single location of the Sun, the Moon, and most well-known planets. It is partitioned into twelve equivalent divisions or signs: Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn.

How does this translate into astrology?

Let’s break this down a little more.

The Sun sign throws light on the overall subjects in your life and how you are situated to react. For example, any major life change, like breakups or moving from one place to another.

The Rising sign centers around the timing of certain events, like securing a new job, the beginning of a relationship, etc.

Lastly, the Moon sign regards your emotional and inner self.

The four elements in the zodiac are divided up into the twelve signs.

Water signs are known to be emotionally delicate, instinctual, selfless, and impractical. They rely more on their senses and emotion rather than logic. Nurturing and compassionate these signs are experts at understanding deep desires and underlying motivations. These signs include Cancer, Pieces, and Scorpio.

Earth signs are known to be practical, headstrong, rational and realistic. They value hard work and putting plans into action. Their challenge is changing set routines or habits that might make them unhappy and questioning their decisions. These signs include Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo.

Air signs are known to be eloquent, social, and expressive. Typically curious and intellectual, they bring different perspectives to their situations in life to see things from different angles. These signs include Libra, Gemini, and Aquarius.

Fire signs are known to be intense, passionate, daring, and dogmatic. Brave and enthusiastic leaders, fire signs have an energy that can’t be contained. Although these signs may be passionate and powerful, their biggest challenge is staying calm and peaceful. Fire signs have a tendency to be impulsive. These signs include Leo, Aries, and Sagittarius.

The Twelve Houses

Each and every house is split up into twelve sections and depending on the time you were born, each house says something different about your life. Your first house is controlled by the constellation that ascended on the eastern skyline the moment you were conceived, and the rest stick to this same pattern. Where the signs fall in each house represents who you are overall.

The First House is self-image (ruled by Aries). The Second House is finances (ruled by Taurus). The Third House is consensual affairs and anything involved in them (ruled by Gemini). The Fourth House is family and adolescence (ruled by Cancer) The Fifth House is imagination and originality (ruled by Leo). The Sixth House is employment and health (ruled by Virgo). The Seventh House is romantic commitments (ruled by Libra). The Eighth House is sensuality and change (ruled by Scorpio). The Ninth House is unearthliness and religious vision (ruled by Sagittarius). The Tenth House is profession or career (ruled by Capricorn). The Eleventh House is goals and aspirations (ruled by Aquarius). The Twelfth House is the energy of fortune or karma in your private life (ruled by Pisces).

All Things Planet Related

The three classifications of planets include the inner planets, the outer planets, and the social planets. Every planet owns its own set of attributes.

Inner Planets

Venus, Mercury and Mars are known as the inner planets as a result of their closeness to earth. The signs within these planets direct your personality, what your inner being needs, and what you want.

Mercury is known as the commander of communication. Whichever sign falls into Mercury will control the precise way you communicate.

Venus is the planet of deep affection and love. This means that what you desire, how you express your affection is all based on where you sign falls.

Mars is the planet of confrontation and action. This results from your job, sex life, and how you express irritation.

Outer Planets

With the most prolonged orbits, Neptune, Uranus and Pluto remain in the same place for the longest period of time. This makes them generational arrangements.

Uranus is known as the leader of change. The way you handle change in your life and in your future relies heavily on Uranus.

Neptune is the leader of goals and aspirations. As a result, this affects what you want in the future and how you will obtain it.

Pluto is the ruler of power. It affects how you use and harness it.

Social Planets

Although wider than the signs of the inner planets, Saturn’s and Jupiter’s orbits are still shorter and smaller than the signs of the outer planets. They are in charge of the way you are perceived by others.

Jupiter is the leader of luck, education, and information. The way you connect to the world around you, how you invest in the information of others and of yourself, is of supreme importance. Jupiter affects every aspect of this.

Saturn is the commander of boundaries. This affects how you initially react to situations that are out of your control.

Now that you have a basic idea on astrology, you can stay up to date on what your sign can tell about your day or your week by reading your horoscope. You can now read your sagittarius horoscope this week, or any sign for that matter, with the proper knowledge and education.

Beginners Guide Through Astrology was last modified: by

Sharing is caring!